What Is the Punishment for a DWI in Texas?

Getting arrested for a DWI is a serious problem. The state of Texas aggressively prosecutes and punishes even first-time DWI offenders, making getting qualified legal representation a top priority for anyone who’s been arrested for or charged with driving while intoxicated. 

Read on to learn more about the punishments that exist for a DWI in Texas, and make sure to call a Dallas DWI attorney as soon as possible. 

Texas DWI Punishments

The severity of the punishment you can receive in a DWI conviction in Texas depends on many factors. One of the most important is whether or not you’ve been convicted of a previous DWI. However, even first-time offenders in Texas can pay a heavy price for a DWI conviction. 

First-time offenders may face up to 180 days in jail once convicted, with a mandatory minimum of three days. In addition, as a first-time offender, you could also face up to a $2,000 fine and the loss of your driver's license for a year. 

The punishments can only become harsher for those with previous DWIs. For a second offense, you can expect a fine of up to $4,000, a minimum of a month in jail, and loss of driving privileges for two years. 

At the third-offense-and-up range, the sentences become even more severe: $10,000 fine, 2 to 10 years in prison, and a further loss of your driver’s license.

The severity of the potential punishments you can face highlight the importance of seeking help from an experienced attorney before conviction. 

Texas DWI Defenses

The type of legal defense that your criminal defense lawyer may choose to pursue should reflect the circumstances and reality of your arrest and charges. 

In that sense, there’s no such thing as “cookie-cutter” legal advice that can be applied to defend every defendant in a DWI case in Texas. 

That being said, there are some common methods of defense that you or an attorney can employ to inform your defense strategy. 

Some of the most popular include:

  • The Officer Lacked Probable Cause to Pull You Over – When a police officer pulls a moving vehicle over, they are required by law to have probable cause to do so. This could range from a missing tail light, to a driver swerving in and out of their lane on the highway. However, if the arresting officer lacked probable cause, this could be a reason to request that any evidence taken as the result of your detainment be dismissed in court. 

  • The Officer Failed to Read Your Rights – When making an arrest, officers are required to inform you of your rights to remain silent, seek legal counsel, and others. 

  • Invalid Results of Sobriety Tests – If the instrument used to determine your blood alcohol content (BAC) wasn’t properly calibrated, it could create a huge problem for the prosecution, which is good news for you. 

Contact a DWI Lawyer in Texas

Have you been arrested for or charged with a DWI in Texas? An experienced attorney with Chris Lewis & Associates P.C. wants to help. 

Give us a call at 214-984-3113 or visit our website to schedule a consultation with one of our attorneys. 


About the Author:

Chris Lewis and Associates P.C.


Often included among the best criminal defense attorneys in Texas, Attorney Chris Lewis provides clients with aggressive, effective, and seasoned criminal defense. In short, he gets results and gets them often. As a result, he has received the respect of judges, clients, and fellow lawyers for his ethics and excellent practice in Texas.  ... View full business profile here: Chris Lewis and Associates P.C.





Comments, Thoughts & Responses