www.legallistings.us - LegalListings.us

California Auto Insurance Requirements

As a California driver, you may already know you need insurance. Whether this is your first time buying your own insurance, or whether you’ve been driving for years, you may already know that insurance is a necessary part of owning a car. 

But what are California’s auto insurance requirements, and what do they do for you? You likely don’t want to pay for something you don’t need, right? 

If you’re concerned about the costs of your insurance policy and why you have these costs, you may need a little guidance on your policy, especially if you’ve been involved in a car accident. Make sure you know what to expect and what you need before you choose a policy. 

California’s Fault Laws 

Your insurance policy is a safeguard against trouble after a car accident. In California, the at-fault party is responsible for paying for any injuries caused in a car accident. Your auto insurance covers the costs of those losses if you’re found at fault for the car accident. 

If you weren’t at fault for the accident, these fault laws should mean you can file a claim with the at-fault party’s insurance company. 

Of course, that doesn’t mean the insurance company will always work with you. These companies are for-profit businesses, which means the company may withhold the settlement you’re due to protect their own bottom line. A Riverside car accident attorney may be vital to get the settlement you’re due.

Auto Insurance Requirements for California Residents 

California law requires that you carry insurance. But that doesn’t just mean any insurance—you need to ensure you meet the right requirements. Otherwise, you may still be considered uninsured or underinsured. That can have legal consequences for your car accident claim if you’re struck by a careless driver. 

In California, you’re required to have the following insurance: 

  • Bodily Injury – Bodily injury insurance covers the medical expenses of those injured in the car accident. This insurance should cover $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident at the minimum. 

  • Property Damage – Property damage insurance covers the costs of the vehicle and any costly property damaged in the accident. This insurance must cover at least $5,000, though you may choose to seek better coverage. 

  • Uninsured Motorist Coverage – Some drivers may not have purchased insurance—or the right insurance—or they may have fled the scene. Your uninsured motorist coverage covers your losses if you’re hurt by an uninsured driver, covering at least $15,000 per person and $30,000 per accident. 

Take Your Claim to Court with a Lawyer’s Help 

Unfortunately, the insurance company isn’t always on your side and may try to avoid covering the costs of your injuries. That can leave you struggling to recover from your injuries, despite paying into your insurance coverage. 

When this happens, you may need help from the lawyers at Kohan & Bablove LLP. They can seek coverage of your losses when you’re struggling to get compensated. Reach out for a free consultation by calling 1-844-404-2400 or by checking out our website for more information. 

About the Author:

Kohan & Bablove Injury Attorneys

Kohan & Bablove Injury Attorneys is a Personal Injury Law Firm serving Riverside and Orange County, California. Our Injury and Accident Lawyers provide passionate, aggressive and client-focused legal services to individuals who have been injured; whether that be in the form of physical injury, emotional distress or work-related injury. Time may be limited to file a claim so visit so call today 844-404-2400.... View full business profile here: Kohan & Bablove Injury Attorneys

Comments, Thoughts & Responses